top of page

Over a year later...

So, the past year has been a doozy for sure. I won't say my legs have improved, because they most certainly have not, but I think I have managed to at least reach a plateau, where they don't seem to be getting worse for the time being. My basketball coach gave me an old pair of hand controls and I was able to install them in my truck. Not exactly "up to code", but they have helped tremendously with my daily spasms and frequency. Last year I took a temporary job and they really did make a difference. I will eventually need a legitimate installation, however, as I have to get them certified with the DMV in order to be street legal, but for the time being my temporary controls are fantastic. The temp job was a good one (Business Analyst), but unfortunately it wasn't permanent and my goal of trying to get back to work has been a nightmare. After almost 2 years of working with the Department of Rehabilitation, I still don't have anything to show for it. No hand controls, no interviews. In the last two months, I was finally handed over to another representative who is supposed to be more helpful, but it's the same issue as before; piss-poor communication. If I ask more than 1 question in an email, it's a guarantee that the 2nd question will not be answered. It's like dealing with 5 year olds who can't concentrate on something for more than a moment. But I digress, at least some progress is better than absolutely nothing...right? So here I am, around 100 submitted job applications later and still nothing. The financial stress piles up and the guilt of only 1 income really hits hard, but we are in it together and will get through it. I had to give up basketball, as I simply cannot afford the gas to travel back and forth to practice, and the job search is top priority at the moment. There are also still no local swim coaches to get behind, and beside, again it would be too expensive. But hey, still alive and kicking, so there is that! :) As Tom Selleck said (His character) in "Meet the Robinsons": We just have to KEEP MOVING FORWARD!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page